Vol. 4 Num 43 Wed. July 09, 2003  

Tech News
ICT journalists get laurel

BANGLADESH Computer Samity (BCS), a platform of computer vendors, has awarded ICT journalists of different print and electronic media for best media coverage on the seven-day 12th BCS Computer Show 2003, held on July 6.

The samity has also awarded Nazim Uddin Mostan, a senior reporter of The Daily Ittefaq, for his special contribution to ICT journalism since 1985.

The awards were handed over at a ceremony at a local hotel.

Advisor to the commerce ministry Barkat Ullah Bulu attended the ceremony as chief guest while National Press Club President Reaz Uddin Ahmed was present as special guest.

BCS President Sabur Khan, Bangladesh Association of Software and Information Services (BASIS) President Habibullah N Karim, Convenor of the BCS show Ali Ashfaq, BCS Secretary General Aziz Rahman were also present.

Bulu said the decision not to get connected with the submarine cable during the past BNP government's tenure had left Bangladesh lag behind other regional neighbours. "Taking the advantage India is now making huge profits from this sector," he said.

Pallab Mohaimen of The Daily Prothom Alo and Rafiqul Islam Sabuj shared the best reporter prize while SM Salahuddin of The Daily Independent received the best feature award.

Best visual presentation prize went to Dainik Dinkal, while best supplement feature award went to The Daily Jugantar and The Daily Ittefaq.

The Daily Prothom Alo received Best 'IT corner' award, while the Best Electronic Media prize went to Bangladesh Television.

Six computer magazines have also been awarded for their outstanding media coverage. They are Dhakar Chithi, Computer Bichitra, Computer Jagat, Computer Tomorrow, E-Biz and Technology Today.

Dhaka Racing, the first Bangladeshi 3-D game, has been awarded the best product at the show. Texas Group bagged the prize for best stall in the show that carried the slogan 'Where technology meets people'. It was held at the Bangladesh-China Friendship Conference Centre at Sher-e-Bangla Nagar.

Award winners with the panel of guests at the award ceremony