Vol. 4 Num 55 Mon. July 21, 2003  

Sports awards distributed

Prime Minister Begum Khaleda Zia has asked sportsmen and women and organisers to concentrate on regular training and have patience and perseverance to attain desired goals.

The Prime Minister regretted that the lack of patience, perseverance and practice has been the main obstacle for the country's athletes to make their marks in international arena.

She said there was no alternative to regular practice and long-term training to attain brilliance in sports.

"A well coordinated plan has to be adopted and implemented to achieve the desired results in the sports arena," she said while distributing National Sports Awards for the years 2001 and 2002 at the Osmani Memorial Hall yesterday afternoon.

She adorned 18 sport personalities with the National Sports Awards for 2001 and 15 others for 2002. Each recipient received a gold medallion, a certificate and a cheque of Taka twenty thousand.

Presided over by State Minister for Youth and Sports Fazlur Rahman, the function was attended by several ministers, members of parliament, diplomats and a large number of sports personalities of the country.

Those who received the National Sports Awards for 2001 are: Alhaj Zahirul Huq (football), Kabir Ahmed (football), M Kaikobad (football), Sheikh Daulat Zaman (cricket posthumous), Omar Khaled Rumi (cricket), Altaf Hossain (athletics), Roushan Akhter Chobi (athletics), M Shah Alam (athletics), Pratab Shankar Hazra (hockey), Hossain Imam Chowdhury Shanta (hockey), Havildar Major (retd) Alhaj Mohammad Solaiman (swimming), Grand Master Ziaur Rahman (chess), M Monwar ul Alam Babul (badminton), Kismat ul Hakim (badminton), ABM Mosaddekul Huq Rochi (table tennis), M Abdul Jalil (kabadi), Abdul Muyeed Chowdhury (organiser) and Hosne Ara Khan (organiser).

The recipients of the National Sports Awards for 2002 are: Maj Gen (retd) Khondokar M Nurunnabi (football), Khairul Anowar Pearu (football), Minhazul Abedeen Nannu (cricket), Nasir Ahmed Nashu (cricket), M Azizullah Haider Jamal (hockey), Mosharraf Hossain Shamim (athletics), Mojibur Rahman Mallick (athletics), M Asif Hossain Khan (shooting), Shahbuddin Ahmed (shooting), Naik M Badshah Mia (kabadi), Begum Kamrun Nahar Hiru (judo), Riffat Bin Sattar (chess), M Gholam Aziz Jilani (badminton), KZ Islam (organiser) and Kutubuddin Ahmed (organiser).