Vol. 4 Num 107 Wed. September 10, 2003  
Front Page

PM to distribute film awards today

Prime Minister Khaleda Zia will distribute National Film Awards 1999, 2000 and 2001 among the recipients at a function at the Osmany Memorial Hall at 5:oopm today.

Information Minister Tariqul Islam will attend the function as the special guest.

The government announced the awards on August 5, adjudging Chitra Nadir Pare, Kittonkhola and Lal Salu as the best feature films made in 1999, 2000 and 2001.

Zahid Hassan, Reaz Ahmed and Raisul Islam Asad got the best actors' award for their performance in Sraban Megher Deene, Dui Duaree and Lal Salu.

A total of 63 awards in different categories will be distributed as per recommendations of a 12-member jury board headed by former secretary A H Mofazzal Karim.

Simla, Gulshan Ara Champa and Moushumi were adjudged best actress for Madam Phuli, Uttarer Khep and Meghla Akash.

The best storywriters' award went to Tanvir Mokammel, Selim al Din and Syed Waliullah (posthumously) for Chitra Nadir Pare, Kittonkhola and Lal Salu.