Vol. 5 Num 243 Sun. January 30, 2005  
Front Page

600 SIs for separate probe unit soon

The government has decided to recruit 600 sub-inspectors to open separate investigation units in 300 police stations and 3,109 personnel for the Department of Youth Development to increase its manpower.

It has also decided to form four new upazilas, raising the total number of the local administrative units to 476 in the country.

The new upazilas are Sonaimuri segregated from Begumganj of Noakhali, Subarnachar separated from Sadar upazila of Noakhali, Dakkhin Surma cut out from Sadar upazila of Sylhet and Comilla Sadar Dakkhin in Comilla town.

Proposals for the fresh recruitment and new upazilas were approved by the National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reorganisation (Nicar) at its 91st meeting held at the International Conference Center (ICC) yesterday with Prime Minister Khaleda Zia in the chair.

"The decision to create 3,109 new posts at district and upazila levels was taken to increase the manpower of the Department of Youth Development," the meeting was told.

The Nicar approved the decision to create 600 new posts of sub-inspectors in 300 police stations across the country to form separate investigation units to ensure "fair and speedy investigation" into cases.

A decision was also taken to set up four new police investigation centers at Titas Purbanchal under Brahmanbaria Sadar Police Station, Dhaperhat under Sadullapur Police Station of Gaibandha, Eidgaon under Cox's Bazar Sadar Police Station and at Agorpur under Babuganj Police Station in Barisal.

The meeting approved a decision to set up divisional administrative office of the land ministry in Barisal and Sylhet divisions.

It also decided to rename Bogra's Majhira upazila as Shahjahanpur upazila and to build a new upazila complex building at Louhajang in Munshiganj.

Finance and Planning Minister M Saifur Rahman, LGRD and Cooperatives Minister Abdul Mannan Bhuiyan, Health and Family Welfare Minister Khandakar Mosharraf Hossain, Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Moudud Ahmed, Industries Minister Motiur Rahman Nizami, Communications Minister Nazmul Huda, Food and Disaster Management Minister Chowdhury Kamal Ibne Yusuf, Post and Telecommunications Minister Aminul Huq, State Minister for Home Affairs Lutfozzaman Babar, State Minister for Youth and Sports Fazlur Rahman and State Minister for Land Ukil Abdus Sattar attended the meeting.

Cabinet Secretary Sadaat Hossain, Prime Minister's Principal Secretary Kamal Siddiqui and other officials concerned were also present.