Vol. 5 Num 260 Fri. February 18, 2005  
Front Page

14 to get Ekushey Padak

The government has decided to award "Ekushey Padak-2005" to 14 personalities in recognition of their contributions to respective fields.

They are Md Saifur Rahman, Khondaker Delwar Hossain and Mohammad Abdul Gafur (language movement), Syed Mujtaba Ali (posthumous), Prof Zubaida Gulshan Ara, Prof Ashab Uddin Ahmed (posthumous) and Abu Saleh (literature), Abdullah Abu Sayeed, Prof Iqbal Mahmud and Chittaranjan Saha (education), Srimat Bishuddh-ananda Mahathero (social service-posthumous), Bashir Ahmed and Abu Sattar Mohammad Shah Zaman Apel Mahmud (music), and Md Mashir Hossain (journalism).

Each award recipient will be given Tk 40,000, a gold medal weighing three tolas and a citation, said a press release of the cultural affairs ministry yesterday.