Vol. 5 Num 263 Tue. February 22, 2005  

Kalabagan sign off in style

Kalabagan Krira Chakra finished their First Division League campaign in style when they defeated Surjo Tarun Club by 59 runs at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on Sunday.

The 18-team fray ended on Sunday with both Kalabagan and Sonargaon Cricketers returning to the Premier Division as champions and runners-up respectively. On the other hand, Wari Club and Nabin Sangha were relegated to the second division league.

Kalabagan, which returned to the top flight of domestic cricket after just one season, finished top of the table securing 28 points from 17 matches while Sonargaon bagged 26 from the same number of outings.

Put into bat, Kalabagan scored 146-7 in a curtailed 20-over game with Raju Parvez scoring highest unbeaten 45 off 35 balls.

In reply, Surjo Tarun were bundled out for 87 in 17.2 overs. Saif Mahmood was the wrecker-in-chief capturing four wickets for 27 in his four-over spell.

In another match, Gazi Tank outplayed Rupali Bank by nine wickets at the Fatullah Cricket Stadium to finish on 26 points but they had to be satisfied with third position as Sonargaon enjoyed a superior head-to-head record.

However, the game itself was short affair as Rupali Bank were skittled out for 41 in 13.1 overs. Gazi Tank raced to the target with 45 losing just one wicket in 8.3 overs.

Elsewhere, Azad Sporting Club beat Partex Sporting Club by five wickets at the BKSP ground in Savar and Bangladesh Boys managed an exciting one-wicket victory over Young Pegasus B at the Dhanmondi Cricket Stadium.