Vol. 5 Num 408 Wed. July 20, 2005  
Front Page

Sunamganj-3 by-polls today

By-election in the Sunamganj-3 constituency will be held today amid tight security measures.

The seat fell vacant at the death of Awami League (AL) lawmaker Abdus Samad Azad on April 27 this year. But the main opposition AL has boycotted the election.

Nine candidates are in the race but locals said the ruling alliance nominee Shahinur Pasha and independent candidate MA Mannan will be the main contestants.

Jatiya Party nominee Syed Ali Ahmed and former Sylhet district Juba League chief Nazrul Islam are also likely to secure significant support of the voters.

The other contestants are Sayedur Rahman Chowdhury (Bikalpadhara), Iftekhar Ahmed Limon (Jatiya Party-Manju), Ataur Rahman (Jatiya Janata Party), Krishak Mohammad Sadeque (Krishak Sramik Mukti Andolan) and Dewan Ferdousur Rahman (independent).

As many as 102 polling centres out of the total 127, including 46 in Sunamganj sadar and 81 in

Jagannathpur upazila, have been identified as vulnerable.

The total number of voters is 2,18,450.

Jafar Siddique, deputy commissioner of Sunamganj who is also the returning officer for the by-polls, told The Daily Star that all preparations were complete to hold the polls.

A huge contingent of police, army, BDR and Ansar members will be deployed at the polling centres to avert any untoward incident. Besides, magistrates will lead 30 striking teams and four speedy trial courts for instant trial of the offenders.