Vol. 5 Num 435 Tue. August 16, 2005  

Faridpur By-polls
Symbols allocated

Election symbols were allocated yesterday among the three candidates contesting the Faridpur-1 by-polls scheduled for August 30.

The ruling BNP candidate Shah Mohammad Abu Zafar got the party election symbol 'sheaf of paddy' while Islami Oikya Jote's leader, Mufti Mohammad Sharafat Hossain, who is contesting the election as an independent candidate, got 'table clock'.

The returning officer also allocated 'cock' to the Krishak Mohammad Sadek of Krishak Mukti Andolan.

After withdrawal of the nominations by four candidates, including Kazi Sirajul Islam, on Sunday, now three candidates are in the race.

In a dramatic move, the BNP on August 10 changed its declared candidate Kazi Sirajul Islam for the by-polls with rebel candidate Shah Mohammad Abu Zafar.

The main opposition Awami League (AL) is boycotting the election.