Vol. 5 Num 549 Mon. December 12, 2005  

Leonine keep crown

Leonine Chess Club retained the Dutch-Bangla Bank First Division League title with unbeaten note when they won their last board against Sonali Bank 4-0 at the federation hall room yesterday.

With the 15th round victory, Leonine completed their tally with 53.5 points. Leonine won their first league title in 1997.

Country's first Grand Master Niaz Murshed along with Indian GM RB Ramesh, GM Uldachev Saidali of Uzbekistan led the Leonine victory.

Bangladesh Biman and Muktijoddha Sangsad became joint runners-up securing 52 points each.

Biman outplayed Shaheed Kasem Daba 4-0 and Muktijoddha also pulled off same marginal victory against Anushillan Daba Krira Chakra.

In the day's other last round matches, Destiny 2000 beat Titas 3.5-0.5, BJMC beat Faith Chess Club 3-1, Narayanganj City Chess Club outclassed Dolphin Chess Club 4-0, Farashganj beat Friends Chess Club 3-1 and Mohakhali Prodip Sangha drew 2-2 with Dhaka University.