Vol. 5 Num 557 Tue. December 20, 2005  

Kookaburras clinch Champs Trophy titleh

Power-packed Australia won the men's Champions Trophy field hockey title with a 3-1 romp over the Netherlands in a rain-drenched final here on Sunday.

Matthew Wells, Liam de Young and Jamie Dwyer scored for the Kookaburras, who repeated the success they enjoyed against the Dutch in the Olympic final in Athens last year.

Taeke Taekema reduced the margin four minutes before the final whistle, but the Dutch were outplayed by the superior Australians, who gained five penalty corners and conceded just one.

The title clash, played in heavy rain here, was suspended for 20 minutes in the second half when puddles formed on the synthetic surface and made it difficult for players to hit the floating ball.

Australia, who last won the Champions Trophy at home in Brisbane in 1999, equalled Germany's record of eight titles in field hockey's elite competition.

Dutch coach Roeland Oltmans conceded Australia dominated the match.

Earlier, defending champions Spain brushed aside Germany 5-2 to take the bronze in another game hit by rain.

Veteran Pol Amat and Santiago Freixa scored two goals each for Spain, who had won their maiden Champions Trophy title in Lahore last December.