Vol. 5 Num 652 Wed. March 29, 2006  

BD-SL second A Test from today

Boosted by Mashrafee Bin Mortuza's inclusion, Bangladesh A take on their Sri Lankan counterparts in the second and final four-day Test that begins today at the Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra.

The first match ended in a draw at BKSP where Bangladesh left-arm spinner Enamul Haque hogged the spotlight for the home side securing ten wickets and captain Jehan Mubarak for Sri Lanka with sparkling knocks off 140 and 99 not out.

The national selectors made three changes in the side from the first match including Mashrafee, who had missed entire four-day matches in the domestic competition as well as the home Test series against Sri Lanka due to back pain.

Besides the leading Bangladesh new ball bowler, out-of-favour paceman Mohammad Sharif and off-spinner Jamaluddin Babu has also been included.

The two teams will be involved in a three-match one-day series starting from March 4 at Bogra.

Nazmus Sadat, Nafees Iqbal, Tushar Imran (captain), Sakib Al Hasan, Mehrab Hossain Jr, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Jamaluddin Babu, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shafaq Al Jabir, Tapash Baisya, Enamul Haque Jr, Mashrafee Bin Mortuza and Mohammad Sharif.

SRI LANKA A (from): Jehan Mubarak (captain), Shantha Kalavitigoda, Jeewan Mendis, Chamara Silva, Malintha Gajanayake (VC), Kaushal Silva, Gayan Wijekoon, Akalanka Ganegama, Ishara Amarasinghe, Mahela Udawatta, Suraj Mohamed, Rangana Herath, Ian Daniel, Charith Jayaweera and Malintha Warnapura.