Vol. 5 Num 807 Sat. September 02, 2006  

Citycell-Channel i Music Award '05
An evening of accolades

One of the biggest cultural events of this year, Citycell-Channel i Music Award 2005 was held at Bangladesh-China Friendship Conference Centre on August 31.

Who's who in the Bangladeshi cultural arena turned up at the colossal event. Incidentally, this is the only award based exclusively on music in our country.

Though the event started an hour late, the opening act was a treat to the audience. Seasoned artiste Shahnaz Rahmatullah performed a popular patriotic song Ektaara tui desher kotha bolrey ebar bol.

Chief commercial officer of Pacific Bangladesh Telecom Ltd, Intekhab Mahmud; managing director of Impress Telefilm Ltd and Channel i, Faridur Reza Shagor and chief executive officer of Pacific Bangladesh Telecom Ltd, Chai Hoon Pin spoke at the programme.

This year, along with familiar categories like Tagore, Nazrul, folk and adhunik, three new categories were introduced. The categories are: best sound engineer, best underground band and best album cover design.

The lifetime achievement award went to legendary folk artiste Shah Abdul Karim. Popularly known as the 'Baul Samrat', the 90-year old artiste has made immense contribution to our music. His songs, following the trend of Sufism, stand out for their extraordinary metaphors, message of secularism and depiction of divine love in simple words; reasons why his music has mass appeal. The artiste received a cheque for Tk 1 lakh, a crest and a certificate. The audience honoured the artiste with a standing ovation.

The music fraternity also remembered artistes and cultural personalities -- poet Shamsur Rahman, music composer Anwar Parvez and musician Niloy Das -- who had passed away in recent times.

Noted educationist Professor Abdullah Abu Sayeed handed over awards to Momotaj (best artiste in folk songs category) and Kiron Chandra Roy (best artiste in mystic songs). Ibrar Tipu and Pilu Khan were named best lyricist and best music director, respectively.

Veteran film actor Razzaque announced the names of winners in best underground band, best upcoming artiste, best album cover design and best sound engineer categories. Cryptic Fate won the award for best underground band and Raya was announced the best upcoming artiste. Talented musician Imran Ahmed Chowdhury Mobin, who passed away in a road accident last year, was named winner in the best sound engineer category.

Papia Sarwar was named the winner in Tagore songs category while Ferdaus Ara was announced as best artiste in Nazrul songs category. Ustad Captain (Rtd) Azizul Islam won the award in classical music (instrumental) category.

Musical arrangements at the event won rounds of applause from the audience. Sabina Yasmin rendered Chhotto ekti gram. A medley of the diverse folk genres in our country, was performed by Chandana Roy, Nadeera Begum, Zahir Alim, Kalyani Ghosh and Akramul Islam. Another arrangement featured familiar songs of bands from different eras. Artistes Azam Khan, Nakib Khan along with members of bands -- Souls, Chime, Obscure, Nova and others -- performed to a crowd singing along with them.

The awards can provide a much-needed boost to our music industry. Kudos to the organisers for the arrangement.

Clockwise from top-left: Sabina Yasmin performs at the event, Momotaj receives her award from Professor Abdullah Abu Sayeed, Shah Abdul Karim (C ) receives his award