Vol. 5 Num 914 Fri. December 22, 2006  
Front Page

4-party aspirants file nominations
Khaleda to contest from Comilla-8

Amid countrywide hartal enforced by the Awami League-led 14 alliance and Jatiya Party (Ershad), BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia and other candidates of BNP and Jamaat yesterday filed nomination papers in different districts for contesting the upcoming parliamentary elections.

In a number of constituencies, both BNP and Jamaat candidates submitted their nomination papers though the parties under the banner of four-party alliance are in the way of seat sharing. In some constituencies, more than one BNP candidates filed nomination papers.

Apart from the BNP and Jamaat candidates, candidates of some small political parties also filed nomination papers.

BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia filed her nomination paper for Comilla-8 constituency where another nomination paper was filed by one Mohammad Mustafa as an indefinite candidate.

According to the UNB, following is the list of candidates, who filed nomination papers yesterday.

Comilla-1: MK Anwar (BNP). Comilla-8: Begum Khaleda Zia (BNP) and Mohammad Mustafa (Ind). Comilla-2: Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain (BNP). Comilla-10: Col (retd) Anwarul Azim (BNP), Rezaul Karim (Jamaat) and ATM Alamgir (BNP). Comilla-9: Monirul Haq Chowdhury (BNP). Comilla-6: Khorshed Alam (BNP). Comilla-11: Abdul Gafur Bhuiyan (BNP) and Ohidur Rahman (Ind). Comilla-5: Maj (retd) Abdur Rouf (Jamaat), Abul Bashar (Ind) and Md Shahabuddin (Ind). Comilla12: Dr Syed Abdullah Mohammad Taher (Jamaat)

Munshiganj-2: Mizanur Rahman Sinha.

Sirajganj-2: Advocate Abdul Latif (Jamaat). Sirajganj-3: Advocate Maulana Hafizur Rahman (Jamaat). Sirajganj-4: Rafiqul Islam Khan (Jamaat). Sirajganj-5: Prof Ali Alam (Jamaat)

Bagerhat-1: Sheikh Mujibur Rahman (BNP), Quamrul Islam Gora (Ind), Kazi Golam Kabir (KSL) and Sheikh Shawkat Hossain Nilu (JP-E). Bagerhat-2: MAH Selim (BNP), Tarreq Hossain (Ind), MA Mosharraf (Ind) and Moqbul Hossain (Ind). Bagerhat-3: Advocate Maulana Abdul Wadud (Jamaat), Rajendra Nath Roy (Hindu League) and Md Sekandar Ali (Labour Party). Bagerhat-4: Prof Shahidul Islam (Jamaat), Biswajit Mondal (Hindu League) and MA Khaleque (Ind).

Madaripur-1: Ali Ahsan Mohammad Mujahid (Jamaat), Nazrul Islam (Ind) and Abdul Hakim (Ind). Madaripur-2: Sarwar Hossain Mollah (BNP) and Abdul Jalil (KSJL). Madaripur-3: Khandker Masuqur Rahman (BNP) and Dr Fariduddin Khan (Jamaat)

Pabna-2 : AKM Selim Reza Habib (BNP). Pabna-3: Capt (retd) Saiful Azam Suja (BNP) and Prof Afzal Hossain (Jamaat). Pabna-5: Mollah Kafiluddin (Ind)

Habiganj-1: Prof Maulana Abdul Malik Chowdhury (IOJ). Habiganj-2: Advocate Monmohan Devnath (KSJL) and Mrs Nazneen Hossain (BNP). Habiganj-4: Maulana Kamaluddin (BNP), Mrs Nazneen Hossain (BNP) and Dr Abidur Rahman (Jamaat).

Moulvibazar-1: Md Kamaruddin (Jamaat). Moulvibazar-3: M Naser Rahman (BNP). Moulvibazar-4: Hajee Mujibur Rahman Chowdhury (BNP) and MA Malek (Ind)

Khulna-2: Ali Asgar Loby (BNP) and Nazrul Islam Manju (BNP). Khulna-3: Sheikh Taibur Rahman (BNP) and Md Ashraf Hossain (BNP). Khulna-4: Prof Mabedul Islam (BNP) and Nurul Islam (BNP).

Feni-1: Maj (retd) Syed Iskandar (BNP). Feni-2: Prof Liaqat Ali Bhuiyan (Jamaat), Joynal Abedin (BNP), Shawkat Osman (BNP), Mahbubul Haq Ripon (BNP) and Akbar Hossain (BNP). Feni-3: Mosharraf Hossain (BNP).

Naogaon-1: Dr Salek Chowdhury (BNP) and Prof Salequr Rahman (Jamaat). Naogaon-2: Md Shamsuzzoha Khan (BNP) and Amir Moyenuddin (Jamaat). Naogaon-4: Md Shamsul Alam Pramanik (BNP) and Nasiruddin Jehadi (Jamaat). Naogaon-5: Advocate Yunus Ali (Jamaat).

Chapainawabganj-2: Syeda Asifa Ashrafi Papiya (BNP). Chapai-nawabganj-3: Abdul Wahed (BNP).