Vol. 5 Num 926 Sat. January 06, 2007  

Grand alliance forced to boycott election
Ctg mayor tells EU polls observation team

A team of European Union Election Observation Mission (EOM) yesterday met Grand Alliance's Chittagong divisional leaders at its office in the port city and discussed various election-related issues.

Grand Alliance's Chittagong divisional coordinator and City Mayor ABM Mohiuddin Chowdhury welcomed the EU EOM members and attributed the present political conflict to the "ill attempt" of a certain quarter to return to power through a farcical election.

He said the present caretaker administration is the shadow of the immediate-past BNP-Jamaat alliance government. "Not only the administration but also the judiciary is being run at the dictate of a particular Bhaban," he said.

He said the grand alliance was forced to boycott the election even after submission of nomination papers, as a congenial election atmosphere for the polls has not been created yet.

Election Observation Mission members Dariusz Tomasz Rasinski and Michael Lidauer were present at the opinion-exchange meeting.

City Awami League General Secretary Kazi Inamul Haque Danu, LDP city convener Ekramul Karim, Jatiya Party city convener Solaiman Alam Sheth and Workers Party leader ATM Nizamuddin attended the meeting.


Our staff correspondent from Khulna adds: A delegation of European Union (EU) Observers' Mission yesterday exchanged views with the local leaders of grand electoral alliance at the Awami League office.

Issues related to next parliamentary election and the current political situation including the siege programme dominated the discussion.

The three-member EU team comprising Christian Cafenstainer, Gulina and Siddhartha Shankar were present at the meeting presided over by City AL General Secretary and local Coordinator of grand alliance Alhaj Mizanur Rahman Mizan.

Others, who attended the meeting, included LDP Central Vice-chairman and former Speaker Shaikh Razzak Ali, JSD city President Rafiqul Huq Khokon, General Secretary of Khulna city unit of Jatiya Party Molla Mujibar Rahman, General Secretary of NAP Fazlur Rahman, Awami League leaders Shyamal Singha Roy and SM Sarfuddin, Workers' Party leader Delwaruddin and Jubo League leader Shahid Iqbal Bithar.

The speakers at the meeting told the EU delegation that the next parliamentary election will be illegal without the participation of the grand electoral alliance.

They also demanded resignation of Iajuddin Ahmed from the post of the chief adviser.