Vol. 5 Num 949 Tue. January 30, 2007  
Front Page

Major shakeup in police admin
Changes in army too; Maj Gen Manirul made new SSF chief

Top echelons of the police administration saw a massive reshuffle last night as the caretaker government made changes to 20 top positions including inspector general of police (IGP) and commissioner of Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP).

Meanwhile, several key positions in the army were also reshuffled.

Director General (DG) of Special Security Force (SSF) Major General Syed Fatemi Ahmed Rumi was made general officer commanding (GOC) of 66 Infantry Division while GOC of 11 Infantry Division Major General Sheikh Md Manirul Islam was made the new DG of SSF, according to the Inter Services Public Relations (ISPR). Bangladesh Military Academy (BMA) Commandant Brig General Shamim Chowdhury was made Officiating Commander of 11 Infantry Division.

Brigade Commander of Khagrachhari Brigadier General Sabbir has replaced Shamim Chowdhury at the BMA while Brigadier General Kamruzzaman of 9 Infantry Division was transferred to Khagrachhari as brigade commander, reports UNB. Brigadier General of DGFI Brigadier Murtoza was made the brigade commander of 26 Infantry Division.

Noor Mohammad, additional inspector general (IGP-administration) of police headquarters (PHQ), was given the current charge of IGP while Special Branch (SB) chief Additional IG Naim Ahmed was given the current charge of DMP commissioner.

A home ministry order signed by Deputy Secretary (police) Shujayet Ullah, however, did not mention about the new offices of outgoing IGP Khuda Baksh Chowdhury and DMP commissioner ABM Bazlur Rahman.

Additional IGs Naba Bikram Kishore Tripura and Dr Shamsuddoha Khandaker were given the current charge of administration and training at the PHQ.

Additional IG (training), Hassan Mahmud Khandaker was made SB chief, Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Foni Bhushan Chowdhury transferred as chief of Criminal Investigation Department (CID), Commissioner of Rajshahi Metropolitan Police (RMP) Jabed Patwari was made additional IG (finance), DMP additional commissioner AKM Mahfuzul Haque as rector of Police Staff College, Dhaka and SB DIG Dr Mohammad Sadikur Rahman was transferred to the PHQ.

DIG of Dhaka Armed Police Battalion (APBn) Faruqe Ahmed was made commissioner of Sylhet Metropolitan Police (SMP), Commissioner of Barisal Metropolitan Police Moniruzzaman additional commissioner of DMP and CID DIG Sohrab Hossain was made RMP commissioner.

Rajshahi range DIG Khan Sayeed Hassan made commissioner of Barisal Metropolitan Police (BMP), PHQ DIG Fatema Begum was transferred to the SB while additional DIG of Dhaka range Mazharul Haq was made commandant of Police Training College, Tangail.

Additional DIG Benazir Ahmed was made DIG to the PHQ, Dhaka Highway Police was made DIG Najibur Rahman DIG of Dhaka APBn, SMP commissioner Saiful Alam was given the current charge of DIG of Dhaka Highway Police, PHQ DIG AKM Shahidul Haq transferred to Rajshahi range and additional commissioner of Chittagong Metropolitan Police Syed Tawfiq Uddin Ahmed was made additional DIG of Dhaka range.

The earlier caretaker government had made CID Chief Khuda Baksh Chowdhury DG of Rab on October 31. On November 2, Khuda, who was the superintendent of police of Dhaka in 2001, replaced IGP Anwarul Iqbal, who was made officer on special duty (OSD). Iqbal is now the adviser to the LGRD ministry.

Rajshahi range DIG Naim Ahmed was made DMP Commissioner on October 31 only to be replaced by SB chief ABM Bazlur Rahman on November 2.