Vol. 5 Num 990 Wed. March 14, 2007  
Front Page

Detention of 6 BNP, AL leaders declared illegal

The High Court (HC) yesterday declared illegal the detention of six BNP and Awami League (AL) leaders under the Special Powers Act.

They are former state minister for civil aviation and tourism Mir Mohammad Nasiruddin, former BNP lawmaker Mosaddak Ali Falu, former AL minister Engr Mosharraf Hossain, AL president's APS Dr Awlad Hossain, Chittagong BNP leader Dastagir Chowdhury and Chittagong Port CBA leader Nurullah Bahar.

Making "absolute" the habeas corpus rules issued earlier, a division bench comprising Justice MA Wahhab Mian and Justice M Emdadul Huq passed the orders.

The court asked the government to release the six forthwith if they are not wanted in any other case.

The court, however, held back orders on the detention of Awami Swechchasebok League General Secretary Pankaj Debnath and Aditi Sengupta, an officer of Channel-1, a private TV channel run by Giasuddin Al-Mamun, after completing the hearings.

M Amir-Ul Islam, Rafique-ul Huq, Ruhul Quddus Kazal, Toufique Imam Tipu, Abul Kalam Azad and Tania Amir appeared for petitioners.