Vol. 5 Num 990 Wed. March 14, 2007  

Local Snippets

European Standard School (ESS) earned a massive 151-run victory over Kamarpara High School in the Standard Chartered Schools Cricket competition at the Uttara Friends Club ground yesterday.

Zabir struck 74 to power the Dhanmondi-based school as they posted 296-9 in 50 overs. In reply, Kamarpara were bowled out for 145 runs in 34.1 overs with Ziaul picking up four wickets.

Raihan took five wickets for just four runs to give Matuail Multilateral School to a six-wicket win over Willes Little Flower School at the Kalindi Cricket Ground.

In other matches, Lalmatia Housing Society School (178-3) beat Gulshan Model High School (176-10) while National Bangla High School (215-10) crushed Islami Adarsha High School (115-10) by 100 runs.

Our correspondent from Gaibandha adds: In one of the shortest finals, Kanchipara Academy crushed Mohimaganj High School by nine wickets in the school cricket competition at the local stadium yesterday.

Mohimaganj were bowled out for 53 runs in 18 overs. Kanchipara clinched the local school title as they romped home in 10 overs with nine wickets in hand.

Property developers Neer have given the Tigers incentives to look forward to if they can beat India, make it to Super Eight or even become champions in the World Cup in West Indies.

According to managing director Architect Mobassher Hossain, members of Bangladesh cricket team will be awarded one apartment for beating India and one apartment if they reach the second round.

If the Tigers become world champions on April 28, each player will receive one apartment from the developers.

Prantik Krira Chakra beat CCS by one wicket in a crucial bottom-of-table clash in the Kai-Altech First Division League at the Dhaka University ground.

In an exciting finish, Prantik won off the last ball of the match as they chased down 237 for victory on the dustiest cricket ground in Dhaka.

Batting first, CCS rode on Mona (75) and Amit (46) as they shared a 133-run opening stand. But their innings fell apart once the openers fell as they lost their last six wickets in the span of seven overs.

Mona and Bijoy took three wickets each but could not stave off their sixth consecutive loss.

At BKSP, Uttara Sporting Club won a low-scoring affair against Rupali Bank by 10 runs. Ashraful took three wickets while Emon, Nazrul and Momin took two wickets each as Rupali bowled out Uttara for 114 in 41.4 overs. But they were bowled out for 104 in 30.5 overs, as Iftekhar and Ishtiaq shared five wickets.

Zahid (86*) and Shamsul (65*) batted beautifully to give Kathalbagan a 5-wicket win over Lalmatia Club at the Dhanmondi Cricket Stadium while at the City Club ground, Jatrabari beat title-contenders Orient Sporting Club by 29 runs.

Sixty teams will take part in the Western Union National Youth Football Championship which begins on March 28.

Nine venues -- Jhenidah, Narail, Patuakhali, Shariatpur, Sherpur, Lalmonirhat, Joypurhat, Habiganj and Feni -- will hots the first round matches. Nine zonal champions will join hosts Satkhira to play the final round matches there.

Defending champion Rani Hamid kept her lead in the Aromatic Gold 28th National Women's Chess competition at the federation hallroom.

The international woman master beat Kishwara Shajrin in her eighth round tie as she maintained her place with eight points. Sharmin Sultana is in second place with seven points with her win against Nazrana Khan in the same round.

Five Dhaka boys will battle it out with 19 others in the final round of the GrameenPhone Pacer Hunt at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on March 20.

Shajahan Tipu (82mph), Abdullah Al Mamun (81mph) and Shamim Ahmed, Khairul Anam and Rejaul Hossain (76mph each) are up against nineteen pace bowlers from across the country in the second battle for the fastest bowler in Bangladesh.

Mohammad Salahuddin of Satkhira leads the pack with 83mph being his top speed.

The selected are requested to report to head coach of National Pace Academy Sarwar Imran at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on March 20.

The fast bowlers are: Salahuddin (Satkhira), Rubel Hossain (Bagerhat), Shajahan Tipu (Dhaka), Masum Billah (Bagerhat), Sirajur Rahman (Khulna), Mushfiqul Alam (Panchagarh), Abdullah Al Mamun (Dhaka), Sohel Ahmed (Mymensingh), Iqbal Hossain (Noakhali), Mohammad Shathil (Narayangonj), Forhad Hossain (Jessore), Kamrul Islam Rabbi (Barisal), Manish Hawlader (Khulna), Moniruzzaman (Magura), Sohel Parvez (Khulna), Yousuf Ali (Bogra), Ariful Islam (Dinajpur), Barkatullah Al Amin (Pabna), Shamim Ahmed (Dhaka), Khairul Anam (Dhaka), Rejaul Hossain (Dhaka), Jubair Hossain (Madaripur), Mobassir Khan (Rajshahi) and Abdul Aziz (Gazipur).