Vol. 5 Num 1137 Fri. August 10, 2007  
Front Page

Bangladesh name team for T20 WC

Like the other Test nations, Bangladesh also decided to send a young but competitive team to the ICC Twenty20 World Championship, which will be held in South Africa next month.

Mohammad Ashraful will lead the 15-member squad which was named yesterday after the approval of the Bangladesh Cricket Board.

The significant recall was Alok Kapali's while explosive batsmen like Junaed Siddique and Nazim Uddin were rewarded for their domestic performance this season.

Another young man on the team is hard-hitting batsman Nadif Chowdhury. He is yet to play a one-day international but was part of Bangladesh's only Twenty20 match against Zimbabwe.

Veteran left-arm spinner Mohammad Rafique, however, was not considered after he was advised to take at least two weeks' rest due to a chest pain.

The only newcomer in the bowling department is Ziaur Rahman, who will assist vice-captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Syed Rasel as the third seamer.

The Tigers are drawn with the West Indies and hosts South Africa in the group stage.

Mohammad Ashraful (captain), Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (vice-captain), Alok Kapali, Abdur Razzak, Aftab Ahmed, Syed Rasel, Forhad Reza, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Junaed Siddique, Nazim Uddin, Nadif Chowdhury and Ziaur Rahman.