Vol. 5 Num 1141 Tue. August 14, 2007  

Observe Aug 15 at state level, declare it a public holiday
RU teachers urge govt

Over 150 teachers of Rajshahi University under the banner of Progressive Teachers Society (PTS) in a statement yesterday called upon the caretaker government to observe the 32nd death anniversary of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman on August 15 at state level with due respect and honour.

The PTS, aligned with Awami League, also demanded declaration of August 15 as a public holiday.

In a statement, the teachers said distortion of the history of Liberation War at state level started after Bangabandhu and most of his family members were assassinated on the fateful night of August 15, 1975.

"We think Bangabandhu, as father of the nation, is above all political controversy", they said adding, all citizens as well as the state should pay due respect to him and observe his death and birth anniversaries in a befitting manner.

'But we are witnessing that the non-party caretaker government is not considering the issue with due importance. The government changed the name of Navy Frigate BNS Bangabandhu to BNS Khalid, which expresses its attitude, the statement added.

As the caretaker government is non-partisan, the people hope that the death anniversary of Bangabandhu would be observed this year with state honour in a befitting manner, the statement said.

It is a matter of great regret that the authorities have not yet made any announcement in this regard, the PTS said.

The signatories to the statement include former Rajshahi University vice chancellor Prof Siadur Rahman Khan, PTS convener Prof Abdus Sobhan, Prof Muhammad Nurullah, Prof Muklesur Rahman, Prof Mijan Uddin, Prof Entajul Haque, Prof Jalal Uddin, Prof Mahabubur Rahman, Prof Abdul Latif, Prof Sheik Muhammad Nurullah, Prof Anando Kumar Shaha, Prof Moloy Kumar, Prof Shamsuddin Ilas, Prof Fayekuzzman, Prof Abul Kashem, Prof Sarker Sujit Kumar, Prof Shah Newaz Ali, Prof Sarker Ali Akkas, Prof Khairul Alam, Prof Abdul Jalil Mia, Prof Sayed Shamsuddin Sheikh, Prof Zulfiker Ali, Prof Golam Kabir, Prof Farhad Hossain, Prof Habibur Rahman, Prof Zulfiker Matin, SA Haider, Khalilur Rahman, ABM Zaharul Haque, Abdul Halim, Rakib Uddin, Shafiqunabbi Samadi, Hasibul Alam and Rabiul Islam.