Published: Thursday, March 14, 2013

SCBA election ends

The two-day annual election to the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) ended Thursday afternoon, with 3,107 lawyers casting their votes.

Total 4,045 lawyers were listed to exercise their voting rights.

The second day’s polling to elect 14 executives of SCBA, including president and general secretary, started at 10:00am and continued till 5:00pm peacefully with a one-hour lunch break.

Counting of votes would start at 8:00pm and results of the election may be declared at midnight, some lawyers said.

Sources in the SCBA said the main contest would take place between the panels of governing Awami League-backed Sammilita Ainjibi Samannaya Parishad (SASP) and the opposition BNP-backed Bangladesh Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikya Parishad (JAOP).

Former SCBA president Abdul Baset Majumder of SASP; former attorney general AJ Mohammad Ali of JAOP; former SCBA president Nazmul Huda, an independent candidate; and Eunus Ali Akond, an independent candidate, are contesting for the post of president.

AM Mahbub Uddin Khokon, MP, of JAOP; Rabiul Alam Budu of SASP; Nazrul Islam, an independent candidate; and Dewan Abdul Naser, an independent candidate, are vying for the post of general secretary.