The Daily Star

Your Right To Know
Monday, February 15, 2016

Wednesday, March 5, 2008
Front Page

Independence Award 2008 announced

The government has nominated three distinguished persons and an organisation for Swadhinata (independence) Award 2008 in recognition of their glorious contributions to the nation.

Paramilitary Bangladesh Rifles (BDR) will be adorned with the award for its contribution to the independence and Liberation War.

The eminent persons being awarded are martyred Dr Syed Muhammad Shamsuzzoha and Prof Dr Gobina Chandra Deb, known as martyred intellectual Dr GC Deb, for their contributions to the independence and Liberation War while Prof Rehman Sobhan for his contribution to research and training.

Chief Adviser Fakhruddin Ahmed will distribute the award to the nominees at a function at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the city on March 25.

Share on






The Daily Star

©, 1991-2016. All Rights Reserved