L-R: Nobel Laureate Prof Muhammad Yunus has been chosen as chancellor of Glasgow Caledonian University, a public university in Glasgow, Scotland. In 2012, 15 persons received Ekushey Padak; They are: Tareque Masud, Mobinul Azim, Humayun Azad, Ashfaque Munier, Ehtesham Haydar Chowdhury, Mamotaz Begum, A.K. Nazmul Karim, Monsur Alam Khan, Ajoy Kumar Roy, Dr. Karunamaya Goswami, Mamunur Rashid, Inamul Haque, Shuddhananda Mahather, Habibur Rahman Milan, Baren Chakraborthi.

Nishat Majumder is the first Bangladeshi women to hoist national flag atop Mount Everest on May 19, 2012. photo: palash khan

L-R: Nargis Parvin, the first and only female train ticket examiner (TTE) of Bangladesh Railway, is at work on a Lalmonirhat-Burimari route train. Latifur Rahman, Chairman and CEO of Transcom Group and Vice-President of International Chamber of Commerce Bangladesh, won Business for Peace Award 2012 .The award is the highest distinction given to a businessperson for outstanding accomplishments in the area of ethical business.

The Bangladeshi computer super genius Wasik Farhan Roopkatha was enlisted in Ripley's Believe or not.

L-R: Syeda Rizwana Hasan, chief executive of Bela, one of the six winners of 'Ramon Magsaysay Award' for 2012. Guinness Book record achiever Abdul Halim balances a football on his head at the courtyard of his residence. After successfully decoding the genome sequence of Jute, Dr. Maqsudul Alam reveals the genome sequence of the fungus that destroys our jute.

Photo: Star Archive

©, 2013. All Rights Reserved