Vol. 4 Num 344 Wed. May 19, 2004  

AL bags more seats than ruling alliance
Factional feud cuts Alliance votes in Barisal divn municipal polls

Awami League-backed candidates got five out of nine posts of municipal chairman against two bagged by the ruling Four-Party Alliance in Barisal division.

A rebel Alliance candidate own one post of chairman and the rest one went to a Jatiya Party (Ershad)-backed woman candidate in the staggered polls that ended on May 10.

But according to data available from the Election Commission, alliance candidates got more votes than the opposition parties but less posts. This was due to factional feud.

In the last parliamentary polls, AL got more votes but lesser seats due to factional feud.

The municipal elections were held by and large peacefully barring some stray incidents of violence at Gournadi, where rigging was alleged.

The AL men elected municipal chairmen are Golam Saleh Manju Molla (Banaripara), Md Shahjahan (Barguna), Anwar Hossain Akaon (Patharghata), Rafiquddin Ferdous (Mathbaria) and Masud Khan (Nalchhity).

Four AL chairman candidates and three renegades lost the polls.

The two elected chairmen from the Alliance are Mustak Ahmed Pinu (Patuakhali) and Nure Alam Howlader (Gournadi). Pinu joined BNP recently.

Rebel Alliance candidate Abdul Halim Gazi won in Jhalakati.

JP (Ershad) candidate Nasrin Jahan Ratna alias Ratna Amin, wife of JP Secretary General Ruhul Amin Howlader, has been elected chairperson of Bakerganj municipality.

In the nine municipalities, in Barisal division, total of 1,23,376 voters (70.19%) were cast out of 1, 75,770.

Nine Al candidates got 35, 615 votes (28.86%) and three rebel candidates got 7,243 votes (5.87%).

Nine Alliance candidates got a total of 41,566 votes (33.69%) while its rebel candidates got 22, 640 votes (18.35 %).

The JP candidate got 9410 votes.

Eight Alliance candidates and two rebel candidates lost the polls.

Three AL and one Alliance chairmen candidates have been re-elected. They are Golam Saleh Monju Molla, Md Shahjahan and Rafiquddin Ferdous of AL and Mostak Ahmed Pinu of the Alliance.

Anwar Hossain Akon and Abdul Halim Gazi were former municipal chairmen.

Four incumbent chairmen lost the polls. They are Belayet Hossain (AL- Jhalakati), Mahbub Hossain (AL- Bakerganj), Taslim Chwodhury (Ind-Nalchhity) and Ayub Hossain Mallick (Ind-Patharghata).