Vol. 5 Num 33 Mon. June 28, 2004  

32nd BACHSAS Awards: A glitzy night
Recognition of outstanding media talents

It was an evening of triumph for many veterans at the 32nd BACHSAS Awards 2003 ceremony held on Saturday evening at the Winter Garden of Hotel Sheraton. Bangladesh Chalachchitra Shangbadik Samity (Bangladesh Cine-Journalists' Association) gave out their most prestigious awards to outstanding performers of the silver screen, small screen, music, dance and theatre.

By the time the last of the guests arrived, there was hardly enough space left. Law minister Moudud Ahmed, chief guest of the event, promised to restrict the audio and video piracy in the speech session presided over by Golam Kibria, President of BACHSAS. The minister then handed over Lifetime Achievement awards to Subhash Dutta for film and Mohammed Abdul Jabbar and Apel Mahmud for music.

There were some memorial awards too. Dramatist Arun Chowdhury was awarded Aziz Misir Critic Award. Bangladeshi-born Indian singer Mitali Mukerjee was given an Honorary Award. In an emotionally choked voice she thanked Bangladeshi people for their blessings. She enthralled the audience with her most popular number Ei duniya ekhon to aar.

Debashish Biswas, with his lively and witty anchoring, conducted the film category awards session. The offbeat film based on historical Tebhaga Mutiny against the colonial British empire, Aadhiar of Saidul Anam Tutul snatched six awards for the best film, direction, screenplay, cameraman, editing and art-direction.

Kakhono Megh Kakhono Brishti, directed by actress Moushumi, won four awards: Rabeya Khatun for the best story, Razzak for best supporting actor--his first award in this category, Imon Saha for best music and Gazi Mazharul Anwar for best lyrics. It was a brilliant comeback for Gazi after winning the Lifetime Achievement award last year. For commercial film Bou Shashurir Juddha, Shabnur and Ferdous won the awards for best actress and actor. Professor Momtazuddin Ahmed and Bobita won awards for best dialogue and best supporting actress for the movie Hason Raja. Baby Nazneen and Monir Khan won awards for playback. Raisul Islam Asad was given the Critics' Award for his performance in Lalsalu.

The telefilm Strir Potro, based on Tagore's short story, won maximum awards including the best telefilm award, Mustafa Monowar for best director, Golam Farida Chhanda for best actress. Ahmed Rubel won the best actor award for the telefilm Lee.

In the drama serial category it was the evening for Ronger Manush. Best drama serial, best dramatist (Selim Al Deen and Masum Reza), best director (Salahuddin Lavlu), best cinematographer (Salahuddin Lavlu), best actor (ATM Shamsuzzaman), best actor in supporting role (Hasan and Pran) and best actress in supporting role Wahida Mallik Jolly were the awards that the serial snatched. Shomi Kaiser, the only performer from another drama serial, won the best actress award for her role in Sharborno Theatre.

In the drama category Dui Kamrar Shangshar won the best drama award, while Mohon Khan--the dramatist of Thaka Nathakar Majhkhaney (TNM), Sajjad Hossain Dodul--in direction for Lobh, Mahfuz Ahmed (TNM), Ishita (TNM) and Tazin Ahmed (Kothar Kotha) jointly--in acting, were the other awardees. Jamal Uddin Hossain and Afroza Banu were awarded for supporting roles in Digonte Digholi.

As usual Hanif Shanket and his Ittyadi grabbed awards for the best anchor and best magazine show (entertainment). Tritiyo Matra won the award for information-based programme.

In theatre category the winners were: Trino Porney Shal Monjori (production), Dr Syed Manzurul Islam (playwright), Mustafa Monowar (set-design), Loko Natyadal Shiddheshwari (theatre group), Tropa Majumder (actress) and SK Bokhari (actor).

Asif and Dolly Shayantoni won awards in singing category while Hasan's Shadhinota became the best band. Ayub Bacchu became the best male vocal; the female vocal award went to Tishma.

Renowned filmmaker Subhash Dutta (R) receiving his Lifetime Achievement award from Chief Guest Moudud Ahmed (2nd from left) while Ibrahim Khalil Khokon (L) and Golam Kibria of BACHSAS look on