Home   |  Issues  |  The Daily Star Home   |   Volume 7, Issue 45, Tuesday, November 20, 2012  |  




Cleansing your Chakras with YOGA

According to ancient Vedic knowledge, the human body has an astral plane made up of seven energy circles, or 'chakras'. These chakras correspond to specific parts of our body and are linked to our bodily functions and the qualities of our personality. The relationship is dialectic, so the whirl of the chakra both affects and is affected by the body and mind.

Energy in a chakra may be whirling in excess or lethargically. If the whirling is not in balance, we experience ailments in our physical, spiritual and emotional states. For example, if we have a back ache, this may be due to fear of financial insecurity or a weak seventh chakra, the one that connects us to an endless energy of the universe and ensures a feeling of safety and security. If we want to address our financial insecurity, we can either change the way we think about money or do exercises that energise the seventh chakra, such as forward folds and down dogs.

By doing these exercises, we can dismantle our energy blocks. We will no longer feel financially insecure and our back ache will go away. We will attract all the money we want to feel happy. These are all connected.

Without going into any more details on why we might want to harness our energy -- let me rather tell you how to do so. As for why, why we might want to improve the quality of our lives by 100 per cent and achieve all our dreams, let me leave that to your imagination...If you do not believe chakras exist, you can think of these as metaphors or symbols upon which to hang a set of characteristics. Thus knowledge of the properties of chakras can still serve as a powerful meditation tool for you in your journey to healing and self expansion.

For more info, email: shaziaomar@gmail.com


The base chakra rules over one's physical identity, oriented to self-preservation. Internally it rules the tailbone, legs, feet, large intestines, bones and immunity. It also rules over survival instincts, self-preservation, physical needs: food, water, shelter, stability, physical and emotional grounding, connection to body and physical plane, money and family/tribal issues.

When balanced, one experiences safety, security, stillness, calm, patience, willingness to slow down and stay in one place, prosperity, health, wealth and vitality.




The sacral chakra rules over one's emotional identity, oriented to self-gratification. It internally rules the hips, sacrum, genitals, reproductive system, womb, bladder, kidneys and lower abdomen. It also rules over emotional/sensual/sexual movement, intimacy, desire, acceptance, adaptability (go with the flow), receptivity and inner child.

When balanced, one experiences relaxation and receptivity, harmony, fluidity and grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfilment and the ability to accept change.


The lumbar chakra rules over one's ego identity, oriented to self-definition. It internally rules the pancreas, adrenal gland, digestion and metabolism. It also rules over personal power, will, autonomy, metabolism, self-esteem, warrior energy and power of transformation.

When balanced, one is energetic, effective, spontaneous, non-dominating but powerful, tranquil, accepting of others, assertive and able to assume responsibility for one's own life.


The heart chakra rules over one's social identity, oriented to self-acceptance. It internally rules the lungs, heart, upper chest, upper back, circulation and breasts. It also rules over healing and is the link between body and spirit, male and female, ego and unity, integrator of opposites in the psyche.

When balanced, one is open to receiving love, harmony, peace, wholeness, compassion and healing.


The crown chakra rules over one's universal identity, oriented to self-knowledge. It internally rules the skin, skeletal, muscular system, central nervous system and the highest functions of the mind. It also rules over awakened spirituality, belief systems that control our thoughts and actions and our connection to the beyond.

When balanced, it allows accumulation of knowledge, wisdom, understanding, ability to assimilate information, spiritual connection and bliss.


The third eye chakra rules over one's archetypal identity, oriented to self-reflection. It internally rules perception, brain, nervous system, eyes, ears, nose, face and pituitary. It also rules over perception, imagination, learning, big picture perspective, intuition, clairvoyance and dreaming.

When balanced, one experiences intuitiveness, perceptiveness, imaginativeness, good memory, ability to visualize, ability to think symbolically and ability to remember dreams.


The throat chakra rules over one's creative identity, oriented to self-expression. It internally rules the neck, jaw, mouth, throat, thyroid, trachea; shoulders, arms and hands. It also rules over creativity, music, singing, writing and dancing.

When balanced, it resonates with our inner truth, helps us find a personal way to express ourselves through music, dance, singing, communication, writing and speaking.


By Shazia Omar
Photo: Sazzad Ibne Sayed
Yogis: Ulfath, Devika, Shazia



home | Issues | The Daily Star Home

2012 The Daily Star