The Daily Star

Your Right To Know
Monday, March 27, 2023
Saturday, October 25, 2008
Arts & Entertainment

Scenes from "Hajar Bochhor Dhorey" (top) and "Ghani", two of the National Award winning films.
Notice: Undefined index: pageID in /var/www/archive/newDesign/print_news.php on line 297

The winners of the National Film Awards (from 2002 to 2007) received their awards from Chief Adviser Dr. Fakhruddin Ahmed on October 23 at the Bangladesh-China Friendship Conference Centre.

The event organised by the Information Ministry was well attended by celebrities and eminent personalities of the country. The ceremony was aired live on Bangladesh Television and BTV world.

Information Secretary Jamil Osman said in his welcome speech, "We've eagerly awaited this day. It's a significant achievement of the caretaker government to inspire the artistes and technicians related to the film industry. These awards will help encourage the positive change in the film industry we are experiencing these days."

Eighty-nine awards in 27 categories including best film, director, actor, actress and more for the years 2002 to 2007 were given at the event, which was divided into three parts. Hosted by seasoned film actor Alamgir and popular TV host Farzana Brownia, a vibrant cultural programme was one of the special attractions. The programme included performances by film actors Riaz, Nipun; veteran singers Bashir Ahmed, Sabina Yasmin, Baby Naznin, Samina Choudhury and others. A short play written by Professor Momtazuddin Ahmed addressing the trend of vulgarity in the film industry both entertained and moved the audience. Actor Abul Hayat and Aupi Karim acted in the satire titled "Cinemar Ashukh Bishukh".

Films "Joyjatra" (2004), "Hajar Bochhor Dhorey" (2005), "Ghani" (2006), and "Daruchini Dwip" (2007) won awards in several categories. The best actors and actresses are Kazi Maruf (2002, "Itihash"), Manna (2003, "Bir Shainik") Poppy (2003 "Karagar"), Humayun Faridee (2004, "Matritta"), Aupi Karim (2004, "Bachelor"), Mahfuz Ahmed (2005, "Lal Sabuj"), Shabnur (2005, "Dui Nayaner Alo"), Arman Pervez Murad (2006, "Ghani"), Naznin Hasan Chumki (2006, "Ghani"), Riaz Ahmed (2007, "Daruchini Dwip") and Zakia Bari Mamo (2007, "Daruchini Dwip").

Share on






The Daily Star

©, 1991-2023. All Rights Reserved

Warning: fopen(cache/static-print_news-60147.html): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /var/www/archive/newDesign/bottom-cache.php on line 3

Warning: fwrite() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in /var/www/archive/newDesign/bottom-cache.php on line 4

Warning: fclose() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in /var/www/archive/newDesign/bottom-cache.php on line 5