Contact us

Volume 6 | Issue 07 | July 2012 |

Inside

Original Forum
Editorial

Implementing Budget FY2012-13:
Testing Times Ahead
-- Mustafizur Rahman
Discriminatory Taxation to Boost Finance Capital?
-- Asjadul Kibria
Road Safety in Bangladesh: Key issues and Countermeasures
-- Hasib Mohammed Ahsan

Road safety: Held Hostage by Trade Unions

-- Tawfique Ali
Immersed in Corruption
-- M Abul Kalam Azad

Photo Feature

Pedestrians at Fault

Interview with Sultana Kamal
-- Rifat Munim

The Conundrum of Police Reform

-- M Liton

Police Accountability and the 'Rule of Politics'

-- Zahidul Islam Biswas

The Debate over the Rohingya Issue
-- Dwaipayan Barua
Where is Bangladesh heading for?
-- G M Quader
Population Challenges for Bangladesh
-- A K M Nurun Nabi

Sufia Kamal : Her Journey Towards Freedom
-- Mofidul Hoque

Outspoken Campaigner: A Postscript
-- Shah Husain Imam
Political party finance
-- Muzaffer Ahmad
The climb of their lives
-- Mohammad Isam

Forum Home

Photo Courtesy

The climb of their lives

MOHAMMAD ISAM brings out what it took Nishat Majumder and Wasfia Nazreen to scale the Mount Everest and also what it symbolises to all women.

“Mortality had remained a conveniently hypothetical concept, an idea to ponder in the abstract. Sooner or later the divestiture of such a privileged innocence was inevitable, but when it finally happened the shock was magnified by the sheer superfluity of the carnage.”

In his gripping best-seller 'Into Thin Air', the gangly American author Jon Krakauer dispassionately sums up the 1996 Mount Everest disaster of which he was a part. Eight climbers died when a storm came out of nowhere to trigger the biggest catastrophe in the history of the highest mountain on earth.